Kumbalgarh – A World heritage site

When I look back at pictures of this fort , I wonder how I kept going right to the top in the eleventh week of my pregnancy ( I didn’t know then !!!  Seriously !) .  Stories of  the great Mewar warriors and the tale of Maharana Pratap’s birth narrated by the guide regaled me on that unforgiving hot afternoon. The guide was a patient man and let me rest every few minutes while at the same time he kept egging me on to  keep going , promising me a breathtaking view of the great wall of Kumbalgarh , second only to the Great wall of China.

DSC_0357
Jain temple near the entrance of the fort

DSC_0359

DSC_0368
Temple top with the fort in the background
DSC_0369
Zooming in
DSC_0389
Mewar Glory
DSC_0372
Of pillars and people
DSC_0391
Nestled in the Aravalli Hills
DSC_0393
The thick outer walls of the fortress
DSC_0400
As we go higher
DSC_0404
And higher
DSC_0406
Finally reaching Badal Mahal , the place where Maharana Pratap was born
DSC_0409
Inside Badal Mahal
DSC_0417
Adorned walls

DSC_0433

DSC_0458
As we leave Badal Mahal

Looking back , I feel elated that I managed to go all the way up and grateful that all was well despite the strenuous trek .

10 thoughts on “Kumbalgarh – A World heritage site

Leave a Reply

