Rock-cut splendour : Karla Caves

dsc_0722
Elephants carved at the entrance of the caves
dsc_0728
Scultpures outside the main cave

dsc_0727

dsc_0725

These are pictures of Buddhist architecture in Karla caves , Lonavala ( Mahrashtra).I last visited the place in June and every time I do , I simply marvel at the beautiful horsehoe arch in the chaityagruha .

dsc_0736

The pillars , inscriptions , vaulted interiors and intricate carvings tell stories from centuries ago .

dsc_0733

 

dsc_0737
Derails on the pillar – People on elephants

 

dsc_0752
Main Stupa

 

 

Buddhist traders in the deccan contributed to this wonder and it is not difficult to imagine the peace that must have once prevailed in these hills .

The chaitya in Karla is supposed to be one of the largest in India and looks magnificent .

dsc_0707
First view of the caves
dsc_0713
A beauty amidst the ruined pillars .

The lion pillar ourside the Chaitya Hall

 

I have had this in my draft for so long , thought I’d post today

 

11 thoughts on “Rock-cut splendour : Karla Caves

      1. I did a Bhaja Caves hike few years ago and it was so much fun. I also created a post series of it. I haven’t visited Karla Caves after 1995. I am a bit tired of Lonavala because my sister lives there and I must have done so much travelling there that I know all alleys and lanes as well. It’s like a second home to me.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

