Fish , rolls and Chinese breakfast at Tiretta Bazar

When I left Kolkata , I scribbled in my diary – BEST FOOD EVER ! It’s true, I enjoyed the variety and deliciousness of what Kolkta offers .

A Goan takes pride in homemade fish curry – coconut  , loads of red chillies and the freshness of the fish itself and ofcourse the Goan fish fry (read recheado masala ) . I was surprised to taste the fish preparations in Kolkata – so different from what I have been used to at home , yet so super yummy . The mustard paste with fish is a unique combination and left me wanting more and more and more .

bhetki-paturi
Bhetki Macher Paturi ( smeared in mustard paste , fresh fish steamed in banana leaf – yum and healthy !)

bhetki-paturi-2

When you are used to red pastes , this is not an ideal surprise to get , however , setting aside my initial fears, I tasted just a little at first , and I knew I’d be eating more of this . Reminded me of patra ni macchi ( big fan of Parsi food :).

ilish-barishali
Ilish Barishali – Hilsa and mustard = Burst of flavours !

The restaurant staff at Bhojohori Manna was extremely helpful and suggested I try this one. The hilsa , the mustard , coconut and other magical spices work so beautifully . What a curry !

fish-kabiraji
A not so healthy fishy option – delicious fish kabiraji

Fish wrapped in a lacy egg net and deep fried ! How can this not be heavenly ? There are times when one wishes to indugle and this was my pick.

Wandering around , I chanced upon an old restaurant ( est. 1932) called Nizam’s . Something about the energy of the place  made me walk in. Finding a table was not easy , this place is busy and I was wondering why . So while I waited , a quick online search told me this is the birthplace of the popular Indian street snack ‘kati roll’ A skewered kebab wrapped in a paratha and this is where it had all begun . Wow ! I was at a legendary place without even knowing it ! The food Gods must love me !! I tried the chicken kati roll and OMG , this place rocks !

dsc_0568
I should have clicked one with some chicken chunks showing ..but when the food is so yum , you eat and don’t stop . Kati rolls to die for !

A small messy lane comes alive early in the morning and I was there by seven ( unusually early hour to be ready for breakfast on a holiday ).  The Chinese community keeps tradiiton alive and serves some wholesome breakfast at Tiretta bazar. Fish soup ..hmmm….fishy but I gave it a go !

dsc_0597

dsc_0595
Fish balls cooked in stock and served piping hot … …winner all the way 1
dsc_0591
Fried Chinese bread sticks ! Sweet and I loved watching them being made .
dsc_0589
Steamed fish and chicken balls – too salty and I didn’t quite like what I tasted .
dsc_0594
Chicken momos ! No pork momos on the menu that day …bad luck

There’s more to come …. a traditional meal at Kepwies , bandel cheese and the fabulous variety of sweets. I hope you share your thoughts .

Have a lovely weekend all !

28 thoughts on “Fish , rolls and Chinese breakfast at Tiretta Bazar

  1. Ahhh..u reminding me of all the treats Kolkata had to offer..I personally miss the Kati rolls..I have never eaten such humongous rolls filled with egg and chicken and at such cheap prices..so the one thing I always miss about kol is the rolls..they have what’s called as Debil’s egg..as you said fish kabiraj and not to forget sondesh and roshogulla at sucha cheap prices….but the rolls are a must try…😋😋😋😋😋

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

