The city of joy through my lens

The yellow taxis , the howrah bridge , a cemetery that is a heritage site , the food , the sweets …I fell in love with everything about Kolkata. I have too many folders , each with too many pictures of this wonderful and lovely city . Since I am too lazy for detailed posts right now , I thought I’d share a few pictures that made me jump for joy ( read yellow taxi and super yummy food ).  Chalo Kolkata….

DSC_0192.JPG
I love all things yellow….and this was love at first sight
dsc_0405
On Howrah bridge
dsc_0540
St Paul’s Cathedral – loved the frescos and the organ inside ( no photography allowed inside)

 

 

 

20160515_174408
Rabindranath Sethu
dsc_0207
Victoria Memorial
dsc_0585
Tram rides are fun !
dsc_0392
Mullick flower market – a refreshing morning walk option

…and finally the South Park Cemetery , a heritage site with 1600 graves and tombs of varied shapes and sizes .

20160516_152238

20160516_152445

 

20160516_152201
This one looked like a letter box

That’s all for now . I will do a post on the goodies that I gobbled up …hopefully this weekend.  Have a nice week . Am off for a few days now 🙂

25 thoughts on “The city of joy through my lens

  1. Nice captures. Hope these were taken during your recent visit to Kolkata. A minor correction to avoid confusion : The old Howrah Bridge (1st & 3rd. pic) is named after Poet Rabindranath Tagore as “Rabindra Setu” and the Second & New Bridge (5th pic) is named as “Vidyasagar Setu”. However, popularly people refer as Howrah Bridge and New Howrah Bridge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Anil . Yes , these were taken in June . Thank you so much for pointing that out and for explaining that to me . The taxi driver did try explaining, but I guess I didn’t quite get it then . Thank you so much for reading through and taking the trouble . Will make the change when I log in onto the system . Loved the city !

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These are great photos! I was in Kolkotta almost 10 years ago on my last and only trip around India. I will be revisiting India later this year and I look forward to revisiting this city and the many memories I still have of it. I remember Sudder Street and what a fascinating buzz of activity that street was!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you have a wonderful trip . This was my first time there and I can’t wait to go back ! The city still retains an old world charm and there’s a lovely balance of pace and peace 🙂 Thank you for stopping by Nicholas.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

