Rainbow circles

The last time I wore glass bangles was twenty  years ago !! My grandma , who lived with us at the time , loved buying them for me and I had a vast collection . The Chudi wala ( bangle seller ) would musically announce his arrival , calling out ‘chudi le lo’ ,  we’d ask him to come up to our home on the first floor and I’d select the ones I wanted or we’d find a bangle seller sitting with a basket of bangles in the market and buy  a dozen or more !

Then my grandma moved to Goa and my love for bangles gradually disappeared.

DSC_1000
Chudi le lo

Today , I happened to see a bangle seller  with those vibrant rainbow circles of glass and I just had to click a picture . Couldn’t get out of the car to get a better shot , but this brought back some wonderful colourful memories.

Happy days 🙂

14 thoughts on “Rainbow circles

  1. Glass bangles… They had a certain nice feel about them, didn’t they? The clinks and the clunks as we moved our hands… And some more of their mischief as we managed to break a couple of them! Ah, this picture brings back memories of my own as well as it does yours! Thank you for sharing this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I could hear the clink ( thank you for that ) . Breaking them , oh yes! Just an excuse to buy some more ..lol
      I miss those street vendors , that haggling and all the fun . Thanks a ton Aishwarya for this lovely message , it warmed my heart on a rather wet and cold morn 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. This is one comment that I will never forget 🙂 Thanks a ton Isyllis 🙂 I took a pic of this comment and am saving it , will look at it on a dark and dull day , it’ll probably motivate me to find a few hues then 🙂 Hugs

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

