When nothing else would do ….

…..Love lifted me !

The hymn ‘Love lifted me’ and the song by Kenny Rogers with the same title , both are special to me .

It takes an understanding and patient friend to put up with a difficult person , it takes a heart of gold to forgive and help you heal when it is them that you have bruised and hurt the most, it takes love to turn you around !

This one is for you R.

“Love Lifted Me”

I’ll write myself a simple song
Get the whole world to sing along
I’ll call it a love song for youAnd who knows
I’m liable to take a song from the Bible
And then when I’m through, I’ll just singLove lifted me, love lifted me
When nothing else would do
You know love lifted meEverybody’s looking for a way
To say something nobody said
But that’s hard to do

They’re searching their mind
Trying to find the one of a kind way
That they could say something new and I just say

Love lifted me, love lifted me
When I was down and out
You know love lifted me

Love lifted me, love lifted me
When nothing else would do
You know love lifted me

Love lifted me, love lifted me
When nothing else would do
You know love lifted me

Love lifted me, love lifted me
When I was down and out
You know love lifted me

Everybody sing love lifted me
Oh, love lifted me.

— that mishmash
4 thoughts on “When nothing else would do ….

  1. I like his music, but doesn’t he seem like he’s a little racist? Maybe I think that because of that line in “Ruby, don’t take your love to town” that goes “It wasn’t me who started that ol’ crazy Asian war.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True . The one you mention is not one of my favourites and has a bit of everything that’s repulsive ( to me at least ) , the racist line and the threat to kill his wife too . Am wondering if people protested then .

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, racism, misogyny….
        I hate “Lday” to, you know the one that starts with,”Lady, I’m your knight in shining armor..”
        I mean who the eff appointed you her knight? Sounds like a person psychotically obsessed with someone..

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Who the eff ….you have made me have a hearty laugh …lol !!!
        He must have read too many fairytales.
        Obsession makes one do crazy things including moronic lyrics ! I should know 😛😛😛😛😛. Lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

