Dona Paula : Memories of my first speed boat ride

I don’t remember how little I was when I first went to Dona Paula but I do remember it was with my grandparents and parents and I experienced the joy and thrill of my first ride in a speed boat .

DSC02373
The way up

 

DSC02375
View from the top

 

Another image that always comes to mind , when I hear someone mention Dona Paula, is the rock with the white statues.

DSC02389
The statues from a distance
DSC02390
A closer look
DSC02392
As close as I could get

 

 

 

There is no clarity about what the statues actually symbolize but the most common explanation I have heard is that the two figures represent India – The ancient and the modern , one looking in the east and the other in the west.

DSC02380
The Bustling Bazaar on the bridge

 

My mum attended a wedding a few weeks ago in the area around Dona Paula beach and today as she shared a few pictures , I remembered that first speed boat ride , with the salty spray all over and the fear of falling into the water . What a mix of emotions that was !

DSC02379

DSC02377
Dotted with boats

I have a few pictures of Dona Paula from my last visit there in 2009 and thought I should share them.

 

 

Any special memories of any special place that you’d like to share ? I’d love to hear your story .

— that mishmash ( apologies for three posts in a day but couldn’t resist )

6 thoughts on “Dona Paula : Memories of my first speed boat ride

  1. I’ve heard Mum mention Donna Paula, but I’m not too sure whether or not I’ve visited during my 3 or 4 visits to Goa. The pictures are absolutely gorgeous though. It is quite an exhilarating experience riding in a speedboat isn’t it? However, when you get to be my age, those thoughts fade away 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Loretta 😊. That was an experience I will never forget ! Must have been 5 or 6 years old then . Oh ! Am sure at your age you have some other fabulous memories that you cherish ! Till I get there , will make a few more adventurous memories to jot down in my diary and blog about ! Thanks again .

      Like

Leave a Reply

