Sorak : A Goan Curry for all seasons !

Setting : A quaint village in Goa

Problem : Torrential downpour

Man missing in action : Shaba ( the friendly fishmonger selling fish out of his rickety auto)

No fish ? No Chicken ? Not even some leftover Sorpotel ? Nothing to worry about! Mai (my grandma) would walk out into the storeroom , pick a coconut and in about half an hour ‘SORAK’ would save the day !

Sorak is a simple , easy and yummy coconut curry that most Goan households enjoy with rice or pao (bread).

DSC_0044

Although it used to be prepared in the rainy season when fish wasn’t freely available , it is prepared through out the year by my grandma and mum and I don’t know of anyone in my family who does not love it .

Sorak and rice , with a generous amount  of prawn balchao or sukhe bombil ( dried Bombay duck ) , is the simplest and most delicious Goan fare I have enjoyed on most days at home in Goa.

My mum-in-law had sent me my share of prawn balchao which should have ideally lasted me a year ….should have but DID NOT ! So a little prawn masala , just as Mai would prepare it , is what I have settled for !

DSC_0040

I have eaten different versions of Sorak prepared by my aunts , cousins etc but this is the one I enjoy the most !

Nee …..this is for you ! Have never done this before but here goes …

What you need

Ingredients to be ground :

  • ½ fresh coconut grated ( the only tedious part of the preparation !!)
  • 5  dried kashmiri red chilies ( you can add more )
  • 1.5 t/s coriander seed
  • 1 t/s cumin seed
  • 4  garlic cloves
  • 1 medium sized onion ( add half into the grinder and chop the other half to be used later)
  • 1 t/s turmeric powder
  • 3 tbsp water

For the curry :

  • 1.5 tbsp oil  ( I used groundnut oil)
  •  1.5 to 2 cups of water
  •  I tbsp tamarind pulp ( a small ball of tamarind in warm water does the trick ) or you could add kokam ( my mum adds that )
  • 1 green chilli
  •  salt as per taste
Instructions
  • Grind all the ingredients (under the to be ground section) into a coarse paste . It shouldn’t be too watery
  • In a vessel , add the oil  and once it is hot add the half chopped onion. Saute until the onion is light brown in color
  • Add the ground paste and saute for about 3 minutes on low flame . After that add water as preferred.
  • After about 4 minutes , add the green chilli ( you could add more ) and finally the tamarind pulp and salt to taste.
  • As it comes to a boil , its time to get it off the gas and serve !

— that mishmash

21 thoughts on “Sorak : A Goan Curry for all seasons !

      1. I was caught up with work lately and missed so much out here :(. Surely trying this at home, since Delhi doesn’t have many options for Goanese cuisine. Will tell you if mine goes half as good as your preparation 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are kind and I feel elated someone found my pictures worth a like ! My husband thinks the pictures don’t do justice to the dish but this is all I could manage . Happy Cooking A ! and have a relaxed Feb ( hopefully !)

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha your husband is a true foodie at heart in that case 🙂 Thanks a lot,but till August I shall be in hyper mode thanks to a major exam coming up . Thankfully WordPress is such a welcome break !

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Wowieeeee…it’s looks fiery hott..m imagining sitting under a coconut tree having this with hot rice and prawns as u mentioned…ohhh mouth watering and yummmm..I want it nowwww…thank you so much for taking time to actually type this and post it..sweeet of u…😍💕💞💞💞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It should be hotter !!! Lol . I keep it down a little for fear that my husband may choke ( imagine the headlines !!!).
      Under a coconut tree is a risky place but if you wear a helmet , you should be safe !
      Welcome sweety !

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

